2005 Summit & Awards


Sponsors / Partners

Accenture Microsoft NYSE Shell Salesforce AAAS Science Red Herring Fortune CNN Time Magazine

The 2005 World Technology Summit & Awards

Disgraced South Korean Scientist Woo Suk Hwang Has Prestigious World Technology Award Honor Withdrawn by the World Technology Network

New York University Professor Dr. Nadrian Seeman Named Award Winner

New York—January 10, 2006—The World Technology Network (WTN), a global peer-elected association of the world’s leading science and technology innovators today announced that it has stripped Dr. Woo Suk Hwang of its prestigious 2005 World Technology Award for Biotechnology. Dr. Hwang was awarded the honor in November 2005 in a gala ceremony at San Francisco City Hall for his research on stem cells and human cloning, research that has since been found to be falsified. The Award will instead be conferred upon Dr. Nadrian Seeman of New York University.

“The WTN is deeply troubled by Dr. Hwang’s actions,” said WTN Chairman and Founder, James P. Clark. “Given the findings announced today by the Seoul National University investigative panel, along with the other recent revelations, we have no choice but to withdraw this award. However,” Mr. Clark continued, “we are happy to announce that the 2005 World Technology Award for Biotechnology will go to Dr. Seeman, whose ground-breaking work in DNA-based nanotechnology is paving the way for a revolution in computing and robotics. Dr. Seeman’s research represents the cutting edge of biotechnology.”

The World Technology Awards have been presented annually since 2000 to the outstanding innovators from each sector within the technology arena for innovative work of the greatest likely long-term significance. Other recent World Technology Award winners have included Prime Minister Tony Blair (Policy), Steve Jurvetson, Managing Director, Draper Fisher Jurvetson (Finance), Cindy McCaffrey, Vice President, Corporate Marketing, Google (Marketing Communications), and Burt Rutan, Founder, Scaled Composites (Space). Individual WTN members (WTN “Fellows” elected in previous annual Award cycles) make the nominations each year and then vote on each other candidates. A full list of World Technology Award winners and members, including those elected from this most recent annual cycle, can be found at http://www.wtn.net

Dr. Hwang accepted the 2005 World Technology Award for Biotechnology in November in a gala ceremony at San Francisco City Hall at the conclusion of the WTN’s annual World Technology Summit. Since then, a wide range of allegations have arisen concerning the legitimacy of Dr. Hwang’s research, eventually leading to a finding by a panel from his home institution, Seoul National University, that Dr. Hwang’s claims of having cloned human cells were fabricated. Dr. Hwang has resigned from Seoul National University.